2019 Juries | New Hampshire Film Festival Skip to content
2019 Juries

Announcing Our 2019 Juries


Narrative Grand Jury

Todd Remis

Todd Remis transitioned into film producing after working for two decades at some of the world’s largest global asset management firms. In the past few years he has been involved with financing and producing more than twenty films, many of which have premiered at top festivals including Sundance, Cannes, Tribeca, Venice, Slamdance, SXSW, LA Film Festival, Berlin, Karlovy Vary, and Sitges.


Aaron Schimberg

Writer, Director

Aaron Schimberg‘s latest film as writer-director, Chained for Life starring Jess Weixler and Adam Pearson, is currently in theaters through Kino Lorber. His debut feature, Go Down Death, was called “an astonishing out-of-nowhere film” by Filmmaker Magazine and “a stunning midnight movie in the tradition of Jodorowsky and The Saragossa Manuscript” by The Dissolve.


Tyler Spindel
Writer, Director

Tyler Spindel’s latest film as writer-director was Father of the Year starring David Spade, released by Netflix. Tyler started his directing career when he wrote and directed the much-acclaimed short film, Love and Germaphobia, which won awards from six major film festivals. Since then, he directed episodes of various TV shows, including The Jack and Triumph Show and the Emmy nominated A Night of Too Many Stars.

Documentary Grand Jury

Nancy Campbell
Program Director, Independent Film Festival Boston

For over twenty years, Nancy Campbell has been dedicated to the exhibition of independent and foreign films in the Boston area. Since 2004, she has been on the staff of the Independent Film Festival Boston (IFFBoston) and currently is the Program Director. She serves on the board of the Chlotrudis Society for Independent Film.


Daniel Patrick Carbone
Writer, Director, Producer

Daniel Patrick Carbone’s debut feature film, Hide Your Smiling Faces, had its world premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival and its North American premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival in 2013 and was named a Critic’s Pick by the New York Times. In 2016, Daniel co-directed Collective: Unconscious, an experimental anthology feature that had its world premiere in the Narrative Competition at SXSW


Craig Mellish, A.C.E.
Cinematographer/Producer, Florentine Films

Craig Mellish joined Florentine Films in 1996 as an intern on the film Thomas Jefferson. Since then he has worked on Lewis & Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery and its companion piece, a 30-minute version of the film done for the state of Montana. He also had a hand in the ten-part series Jazz, serving as an associate editor on Episode Nine, The Adventure, and as co-editor with Lewis Erskine, ACE, on Episode Three, Our Language.

Narrative Shorts Jury

Ian Durkin
Lead Curator, Vimeo

Ian Durkin is the Lead Curator at Vimeo and a commercial director living in Brooklyn, NY.



David Massey
Oscar-Nominated Producer, Director

An Academy Award-nominated producer of the Live-Action Short film Last Breeze of Summer. Massey works extensively in Hollywood, and has produced several films, commercials and television pilots. His docudrama Men of Courage won an NAACP Image Award, and aired on PBS and BET. He has produced and directed six short films under the UCE Productions banner, including Island Song, which won the Audience Award at the 2013 Pan African Film Festival.



Tony Oswald
Writer, Director

Tony Oswald is a Brooklyn-based filmmaker known for his directorial debut Great Light and the upcoming feature A Thousand Wonders, written with his partner Pisie Hochheim.



Documentary Shorts Jury

David Abel
Filmmaker, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Reporter

David Abel is an award-winning filmmaker and Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter who covers environmental issues for The Boston Globe. Abel’s work has also won an Edward R. Murrow Award, the Ernie Pyle Award from the Scripps Howard Foundation, and the Sigma Delta Chi Award for Feature Reporting. He co-directed and produced Sacred Cod, which aired on the Discovery Channel in 2017.


Chad Carbonne
Documentary Filmmaker

Chad is a NYC-based editor and producer with over a decade of professional experience in filmmaking and commercials. His specialty has been in post production, having led design, editorial and VFX teams working with ad agencies and production companies for clients such as Google, Facebook, Samsung and Hershey’s.


Samara Chadwick
Senior Programmer, Camden International Film Festival

Samara is the Senior Programmer for the Points North Institute and the Camden International Film Festival, a much-loved documentary festival, bringing the best of creative non-fiction from around the world to the rugged coast of Maine. She has programmed films and conferences for HotDocs, the Montreal International Documentary Festival and the Berlin Biennale.

New Hampshire Jury

Max Clayton

Max Clayton is an actor currently performing in Baz Luhrmann’s stage adaptation of his Academy Award-winning film Moulin Rouge! on Broadway. Max’s recent string of other Broadway hits includes Pretty Woman, Bandstand, and Hello Dolly! Born and raised in New Hampshire, he now lives and works in New York City



Erin Fehlau
Anchor, WMUR / Host, NH Chronicle

Erin Fehlau is a morning news anchor and host of NH Chronicle on WMUR-TV in Manchester, NH. Erin has won a number of Emmy Awards for her reporting and was also honored with the Outstanding Newscast Producer Emmy while working at WB56 in Boston. Erin came to WMUR from the Fox affiliate in Portland, Maine, where during the 2000 presidential campaign, she broke the news of George W. Bush’s drunken driving arrest. Her story garnered a number of awards including a National Clarion Award and Edward R. Murrow Award for Investigative Journalism. Erin grew up in Bedford, MA, and is a graduate of the S.I. Newhouse School of Communications at Syracuse University.


Amy Jenkins

Amy Jenkins is an award-winning American artist whose installations, films, and photography have been exhibited at museums including The Museum of Modern Art, NY; National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC; Haifa Museum, Haifa, Israel; Akron Art Museum, Ohio; and Palm Beach ICA, FL. Jenkins’ first documentary feature, Instructions on Parting, won Best Feature Documentary at Athens International Film and Video Festival, OH, and screened at festivals including MoMA Doc Fortnight 2018 (Premiere), Montclair, IFFBoston, Sydney, and DOXA. Jenkins was awarded the 2019 Ewing Award for Interdisciplinary Art, and the 2018 NH Filmmaker of the Year by New Hampshire Film Festival. A Robert Flaherty Film Seminar Fellow in 2014, her work has also been supported by LEF Foundation, Perspective Fund, IFP, Points North Institute, NH State Council for the Arts, the Pollack-Krasner Foundation, NYFA, Jerome Foundation, NYSCA, Berkshire Taconic A.R.T. Fellowship, Aaron Siskind Foundation, and the Experimental Television Center.

Screenplay Competition Judge

Nathan Silver
Writer, Director

Nathan Silver has written and directed eight feature films as well as multiple shorts. His work has played festivals and venues around the world, including New York Film Festival, Venice, Tribeca, Mar del Plata, AFI, Locarno, Rotterdam, Viennale, MoMA, Film Society of Lincoln Center, La Cinémathèque Française, and Cineteca Nacional, Mexico. The New Yorker recently called Silver “a modernistic master of melodrama,” and said that “[he] proves himself to be one of the most original American independent filmmakers working today.” Both The New York Times and The Village Voice have done profiles on him