fbpx Award Archive | New Hampshire Film Festival Skip to content


Grand Jury Award: Carlos Puga, All That I Am
Best Feature: Denis Henry Hennely, Goodbye World
Best Documentary: Lucy Walker, The Crash Reel
Best Animation: Eoin Duffy, The Missing Scarf
Best Short Comedy: Michael Neithard, Alive feeling like a buck seventy five
Best Short Drama: Michael Tyburski, Palimpsest
Audience Choice – Documentary: Sean and Andrea Fine, Life According to Sam
Audience Choice – Feature:  Brant Sersen, SANATORIUM
NH Feature of the Year: David Gordon Greene, Prince Avalanche
NH Short Film of the Year: Sophia Savage, Empyrean 
Best NH Documentary: Todd Kwait, Tom Rush: No Regrets
Best NH Performance: Morganna Ekkens for Only Daughter
New Hampshire Film of the Year:  Aaron Wiederspahn, Only Daughter
Van McLeod Award: Lisa Muskat


Grand Jury Award: Austin Chick, Girls Against Boys
Best Feature:  Tom O’Brien, Fairhaven
Best Documentary: Matthew Heineman & Susan Fromke,  Escape Fire: The Fight to Rescue American Healthcare
Best Animation: Brian Lye, Callum Paterson and Nathan Gilliss,  Peach Juice
Best Short Comedy:  Todd Sklar, 92′ Skybox Alonzo Mourning Rookie Card
Best Short Drama:   Paul Grellong,  Tracer Gun
Audience Choice – Documentary: Ramona Diaz,   Don’t Stop Believing: Every Man’s Journey
Audience Choice – Feature: Eric Kissack,  Missed Connections
Best Screenplay: Steve Lucas for La Mujer (Thriller)
Best NH Documentary: Michael Venn and Mark Dole, In Danger of Being Discovered
Best NH Performance: Jace McLean for 3 Days of Normal
New Hampshire Film of the Year: Alfred Thomas Catalfo, Rocketship
Van McLeod Award: Mike O’Malley


Best Feature: Adam Kassen, Puncture 
Best Documentary: Bryan Storkel, Holy Rollers
Best Animation: Ryan Gibeau, Dirty Night Clowns
Best Short Comedy: Jeff Tomsic, I’m Having a Difficult Time Killing my Parents
Best Short Drama: Mel Miskell, Static
Audience Choice – Documentary: Constance Marks, Being Elmo
Audience Choice – Feature: Aimee Lagos, 96 Minutes
Grand Jury Award: Yan Vizinberg, Cargo
Best Screenplay: Kevin O’Malley, Bananafish Sandwich
Best NH Documentary: Marc Dole, In Danger of Being Discovered
Best NH Performance: Ben Robertson, Anywhere But Here (Directed by: Ross Thomas)
New Hampshire Film of the Year: Robert Scott Wildes, Thule
Van McLeod Award: Chris Stinson


Grand Jury Award: Will Canon, Brotherhood
Best Feature: Tanya Hamilton, Night Catches Us
Audience Choice Narrative: Bob Meyer, Drunkboat
Audience Choice Documentary: Adrian Grenier, Teenage Paparazzo
Best Documentary: Matthew Groff and Ami Horowitz, U.N. Me
Best Short Comedy: Jordan Vogt-Roberts, Successful Alcoholics
Best Short Drama: Dan Hannon, The Pond
Best Screenplay: Tim Steed, “Dance of the Spike” (“Spike Driver Blues”)
MyTV’s New England Film of the Year: Andy Mitton, YellowBrickRoad
Van McLeod Award: Ken Burns


Grand Jury Award: Scott Teems, That Evening Sun
Best Feature: Tim Disney, American Violet
Best Documentary: George Kachadorian, Shooting Beauty
Best Short Drama: Eric D. Howell,  Ana’s Playground
Best Short Comedy: Arran Brownlee and Corran Brownlee, The Continuing and Lamentable Saga of the Suicide Brothers
Best Animation: Sally Pearce, Elephants
Best Student Film: David Jibladze, Beholden
Audience Choice Narrative: Brant Sersen, Splinterheads
Audience Choice Documentary: Aron Gaudet, The Way We Get By
Screenplay Competition: Ed Boyle and Kevin Carey, Peter’s Song
NH Filmmaker of the Year: Chase Bailey, Crooked Lane
Best NH Documentary: Marc Dole, Mito-Kids: Documenting Life
Van McLeod Award: Ernest Thompson


Best Short Comedy: Kate Hudson, Cutlass
Best Short Drama: Colin Cunningham and Madison Graie, Centigrade
Best Animation: John Cernak and Danny Oakley, The Magistical
Best Student: T.J. Volgare, The Abattoir
Best Documentary: Patrick Creadon, I.O.U.S.A.
Grand Jury Award: Vadim Perelman, The Life Before Her Eyes
Best Feature: Giuseppe Tornatore, The Unknown Woman
Best Screenplay: David Bertoni, The Stunning Box
Audience Choice: Vanessa Gould, Between the Folds
New Hampshire Documentary Film Award: Jay B Childs, Communities and Consequences
New Hampshire Film of the Year: Justin Nowell, Sick Sex 
The Van McLeod Award: Chase Bailey


Feature: Aaron J. Wiederspahn, The Sensation of Sight 
Documentary: Luke Wolbach, Row Hard, No Excuses 
Short Drama: Harry Kellerman, The Little Gorilla 
Short Comedy: Jonathan Browning, The Job 
Animation: Alex Weil, One Rat Short 
Student: Robert Scott Wildes, Neptunus Rex 
Screenplay: Voices, Susan Klos
Grand Jury: Dave McLaughlin, On Broadway
New Hampshire Jury: Stephen Croke, The Busker


Feature: Mark Hammond, Johnny Was
Documentary: Randy Olson, Flock of Dodos 
Short Drama: Lance Edmands, Vacationland 
Short Comedy: Will Hartman, Moosecock 
Animation: J. Zachary Pike, The Toll 
Student: Dan Eckman, Checkout 
Screenplay: The Langlais Brothers, Unity
Audience: Christoph Gelfand, Chasing Buckner 
Grand Jury: Ricki Stern, Anne Sundberg, The Trials of Darryl Hunt


Feature: Ken Tipton, Heart of the Beholder
Documentary: Ron Wyman, Tunde
Short Drama: Michael Gillis, The Listeners
Short Comedy: Diego Velasco, Day Shift
Animation: John Cernak, Joyride
Student: Stefan Glidden, S. Katz, VP
Screenplay: Rock Shaink Jr. and Tim Anderson, Winter’s Edge


Feature: Brent Sterling Nemetz, Amazing Floydini 
Documentary: E.S. Wochensky, Shoot the Moon
Short Drama: Keith Bearden, Raftman’s Razor
Short Comedy: Doug Stradley, Thunder Road
Animation: Danny L. Oakley, Flyaway
Student: Ballard C. Boyd, Super 7
Screenplay: Alfred Thomas Catalfo, Mall Cop
Granite State Filmmaker: Scott Hancock, The New Voice of Fenway Park


Feature: Terre Weisman, Developing Sheldon 
Documentary: Jennifer Campbell, Nine 
Short Drama: Chris Ohlson, The Meat Market 
Short Comedy: Larry LaFond, Gaydar 
Animation: John Cernak, Dear, Sweet Emma 
Student: Jerome Schwartz, Cullen Hoback: Chasing Days
Screenplay: Joshua Howes, A House Divided


Feature: Julia Montejo, Jesus Nebot, No Turning Back 
Documentary: Bill Holloway, Go the Distance
Short Drama: Jeff Bemiss, The Book & The Rose 
Short Comedy: Vengeance
Animation: The Last Mouse
Screenplay: Richard Guimond, The River Pirates
Granite State Filmmaker: Bobby Owen


Feature: Gregory Joyce, Working Stiff 
Documentary: Jay Fedigan, The Angry Heart 
Short Drama: Mellon
Short Comedy: Beverly Allyn Chase, Going Postal